Monday, May 3, 2010

2010 Derringer Award Winners Announced

The Short Mystery Fiction Society (of which I'm a member) announced the winners of the 2010 Derringer competition.

The winners are:

In the flash fiction category, 1,000 words or less, the winner is: "And Here's to You, Mrs. Edwardson," by Hamilton Waymire. The story first appeared in Big Pulp.

In short fiction category, 1,001 to 4,000 words, the winner is: "Twas the Night" by Anita Page. It first appeared in the Gift of Murder anthology.

In the long fiction category, 4,001 to 8,000 words, the winner is: "Famous Last Words" by Doug Allyn. It first appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

In the novelette category, 8,001+ words, the winner is: "Julius Katz" by Dave Zeltserman. This story first appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.


  1. Thanks for sharing. I'll have to jump over and read some of the stories.

  2. They're all top notch stories, but they're not on the SMFS website. They may create an anthology of the winners (this year and from the past).